I have a 60Csx that does a great job for many years when hiking. The 64s will take satellite maps and topo satellite maps which the 60Csx will not. Is it worth the money? Probably not if you can buy the montana 600 series that also takes both maps and seems to track as well as the 64s which has all those extra Russian satellites attached to it. I have both and they track almost EXACTLY the same on all hikes I have taken.

I love this thing. I love to go bush-wacking rather than stay on the trails. This has helped me find the trail again when I want it, and to stumble upon hidden treasures I never knew were there. Having a blast with it.

This is for sure one of the most accurate GPS devices I have ever used in my life. The GLONASS feature helps the device locate you even on the first level of a two story house. Compared to Garmin eTREX, this is much quicker device in terms of functions and loading maps. The Birdseye feature allows me to save satellite photos of an area on my GPS so that I can have a better idea of what the trail is like. I use Alkaline batteries in mine but I think I’d switch to NiMH since I wouldn’t need to take them out of the device in order to charge them. The current maps that are on the device are fully detailed and have most of the banks, restaurants, and points of interest saved, however, THEY CANNOT BE USED TO NAVIGATE YOU, you’ll need to purchase extra “Routed” maps in order to have the device navigate you like a car GPS.

IT could be a lack of understanding because the documation is very difficult to find the relevant information, I have a hard time finding how to manage “way points” between maps
Garmin GPSMAP 64s Worldwide with High-Sensitivity GPS and GLONASS Receiver

